In the United States, many feel our healthcare system is in “critical condition” – in need to drastic changes if we are to contain the costs, deliver quality healthcare and provide affordable health insurance to Americans.

As an insider looking-out, it’s interesting to see the issue take shape, how the arguements are frames and what outcomes various special interests want in our future. 

I’m not looking-out from the  inside because I’m a doctor, but because I’m his wife.  I have a unique perspective, understanding and stake in the final outcome that may radically change healthcare as we know it, but also the lives of those who practice medicine each day.

Doctors today find themselves in a tenuous position – if they oppose universal healthcare, or radical changes to how healthcare is delivered, they’re branded “greedy,” or worse, driven by profit-motives.

Those supporting reforms that take our system toward a single-payer system are embraced, enlightened and ethusiastically quoted in the media as if they represented all physicians and surgeons in the United States.

The truth lies somewhere between the two extremes, but you wouldn’t know that by the tone of the current debate presented by the media.  The issue is often framed in black and white, one or the other, we must do something or we’ll be sorry later for our inaction. 

We hear a lot of noise about health insurance and access to healthcare, as if the two are interchangable and totally dependent upon each other.  And we’re fed a steady diet of reasons why our system is miserable, inadequate and antiquated; earnestly told to look at other countries and their universal healthcare systems.

While I do agree that some things in our present system need fixing, I also do not believe a single-payer unversial healthcare system is the answer.  Here I hope to openly examine our system, its flaws, its triumphs and the professionals tasked each day with delivering quality healthcare in the United States. 

Because “profit” is a dirty word, doctors find themselves limited in their ability to articulate their position in the matter; more importantly they’re often not even asked their opinion in the matter.  So, while all doctors and other healthcare professionals obviously will not agree with my stance, I’m attempting to clarify the position of those that do.

My comments are open and moderated.  I will only reject those comments which are obvious spam or that a blatant attacks rather than lending an opinion one way or the other.

My blogroll is a mix of opinions, from various medical and science bloggers that I enjoy reading.  Their inclusion does not imply my endorsement or their endorsement of me and my opinions!

